There are several ways to use Strategic Movements: as a dispatching tool with a load planner making the assignments manually, as a scheduling and dispatching tool for organizations using a master schedule of static routes, and as a scheduling and dispatching tool with an automated assignment process.

Each of these ways provides a specific feature set. In addition, another extended feature, GPS+, is also available.

Specific features can be enabled or disabled. When configuring Strategic Movements, a decision needs to be made whether or not to enable a specific feature.

If a feature is never going to be used, it should be disabled. When a feature is enabled, it usually takes up space on one or more forms and can provide the user with choices that will never be taken.

For example, if product are being delivered and an order will never be larger than will fit on a single vehicle, there would never be a case where a job would have to be split so it could be assigned to more than one vehicle.

Features are configured in the My Profile form. Here are the features that may be configured with an explanation for each one.

Show Daily Process

The daily process is used to create a plan, upload jobs, and (if dynamic routing is enabled) automatically assign the jobs to trips using the AI assignment process.

Allow Split Job

If Strategic Movements is used to deliver goods where each job has a cube and/or weight value, and the trips have a cube and/or weight limit, jobs that are overcube or overweight cannot be assigned using the AI assignment process. A job can be split into multiple parts each having part of the total cube and/or weight. If jobs that are uploaded or manually entered have cube and/or weight values that will not fit on any trip, this option should be enabled. If all jobs will fit on all trips, this option should be disabled.

Allow Delete Job

Jobs may always be deleted and removed from a plan in the Jobs form. If this capability is also needed in the Dispatch Board, this option should be enabled.

Allow Delete Trip

Trips may always be deleted and removed from a plan in the Trips form. If this capability is also needed in the Dispatch Board, this option should be enabled.

Allow Reloads

In some cases, a trip may return early to a terminal (company owned or operated) location. Upon return, jobs may be assigned to the trip and the trip will be dispatched again. If a trip may be reloaded during the day, this option should be enabled.

Default Reload Time

If reloads are enabled, this is the default time for the reloading process.

Allow Time Windows

Locations may have time windows and Jobs may have scheduled arrival times. If these features are needed, this option should be enabled.

Use Vehicles

Trips may have a vehicle assigned. If vehicles are being assigned to trips, this option should be enabled.

Allow Vehicle Limits

Trips may have cube and weight limits, which are usually taken from the vehicle assigned to the trip. If cube and weight limits are to be specified for trips, this feature should be enabled.

Use Workers

Trips may have a worker assigned. If workers are being assigned to trips, this option should be enabled.

Allow Assignment Rules

Jobs and trips may have assignment rules. For a job, the rule indicates that is required and must be assigned to a trip that offers the same rule.

Use QuickBooks

If the QuickBooks interface is being used to upload shipment data from QuickBooks invoices, this option should be enabled.

Use Upload Robot

If the Upload Robot is used for uploading data, this option should be enabled.

Manual Roll

If manual dispatching is enabled, and multiple day rolling plans are used for scheduling, completed days are usually automatically removed and new days are automatically added. If the automated process is NOT to be used, this option should be enabled.

Plan Display Days

This is the number of day for which a plan is displayed in the Plans form.

Plan Auto Close Days

This is the number of days after which a plan’s status is automatically changed to Closed.

Plan Archive Days

This is the number of days after which a plan is archived and removed from the database.