Donna takes a deeper dive into the Dispatch Board in this eight minute video.

Transcript

Hi! I’m Donna and today I am going to talk about using the Strategic Movements Dispatch Board.

The Dispatch Board is used to move jobs from one trip to another with an easy to use interface.

Let’s get started by opening the Dispatch Board.

Control actions are in the upper left corner.

Here you can turn automatic saving on and off. It’s your choice. You can either save changes immediately after they are made or only when you click on the Save button.

After taking an action that changes the solution, you can also undo changes that you have made by clicking on the Undo button.

You can undo changes all the way back to the start of the Dispatch Board session.

To print a report with the assignments of the jobs to trips, you can click on the Print button.

To unassign all jobs, click on the Unassign All button.

And when you are done with the Dispatch Board, click on the Close button.

If you forget the meaning of each color used in this screen, click on the Show Guide button for an explanation.

For now, remember this:

  • Light blue buttons control how saving works.
  • Green buttons cause an immediate action and save changes to the database.
  • Yellow buttons cause an action, but the results are not saved until you click on the Save button.
  • Red buttons cause an immediate action and save changes to the database, but only after a confirmation.
  • And dark blue buttons change the format of the data on the screen.

Now let’s see how the jobs are displayed.

In the first column is a list of unassigned jobs. The number in the list matches the number on the map.

For each job, you will also see the job code, name, location and work time.

The blue “hamburger” button contains actions that may be taken on the job. The actions shown depend on whether or not the job is assigned to a trip.

You can sort the list by the name, the city, the map sequence number or the job code. If you click a button again, the sort is reversed.

Before we look at how you move jobs around, let’s look at the trips.

The trips are shown in the second column.

If you are looking for a specific trip, you can use the collapse and expand trip buttons to find a trip more quickly.

On the top of each trip, you will see the trip code, the vehicle and worker assigned to that trip.

On the next line are blue buttons that allow you to take actions on how the trip is displayed.

The down pointing triangle is used to hide the job list. When the list is hidden, this button is replaced by a right pointing triangle which is used to show the job list.

The eye with a slash is used to hide the trip on the map. When hidden, this button is replaced by an eye without a slash which is used to show the trip on the map.

The up arrow is used to move the trip up in the list.

The down arrow is used to move the trip down in the list.

The up chevron is used to move the trip to the top of the list.

And the down chevron is used to move the trip to the bottom of the list.

When we start to move jobs around, you will find it easier to work on trips that are near the top of the list.

The next set of buttons shows possible actions for the trip. If Auto Saving is turned on, the buttons will be green indicating that changes will be automatically saved to the database; if turned off, the buttons will be shown in yellow, indicating that you must click on the Save button first.

The X button is used to unassign all jobs from the trip.

The double arrow button is used to recompute the times and distances between the jobs in the trip.

The lightning bolt button is used to place the jobs in the least cost travel order.

And the crossing arrow button is used to reverse the travel order of the jobs.

If an action is not valid, like trying to reverse a trip with only one job, the button will be disabled and you will not be allowed to perform that action.

Now let’s look at the assignment process.

To move a job from the assigned list to a trip or from one trip to another, click down on the job, drag it to the desired trip and drop it.

The map is shown with a straight line between the jobs to indicate that the route to and from the added job is not yet known, and the timeline is marked as needing a recompute.

Click on the recompute button to get the correct times, distances and travel path. The timeline will be updated as well.

Let’s move stops around.

Then click on the optimize button and the jobs will be put in the least cost order.

Finally click on the reverse button and see that the order of the jobs has changed.

On the right side of the screen are other ways to view the trips and jobs.

The Dashboard on the top of the list shows a summary for each trip with the number of jobs, and other trip statistics.

The Timeline shows a chart indicating how much time is spent driving and working. The color and letter on the work blocks match the color and letter of the icons on the map.

The Map shows each of the trips with the line indicating the proposed travel path, with the letters on each job matching the letters in the trip list.

You can position the map by zooming out and in using the minus and plus buttons and can move the map around by clicking on it and dragging. You can also change the type of map by clicking on the Road button.

The Map can be used to make assignments.

Double click on one or more map icons to place them in a list above the map. Then drag the hand to a trip and drop to make the assignment.

Then click on the recompute button to get the actual travel path.

You can also select jobs on the map by clicking on the pencil button.

Click on the map and select an area by clicking on the corners. Then double click to close the selection area. The jobs selected will appear above the map.

You can clear the selection by clicking on the eraser button.

You can also select jobs by name or city.

The selected jobs are highlighted in green in the unassigned jobs and trip lists.

Click on the Select button to add them to the list above the map.

To remove one job from the list, double click on it.

To remove all jobs from the list, click on the Clear button.

And, finally, click on the Recenter Map to see all the trips on the map.

As you can see, the Dispatch Board is a powerful tool for managing your work.

Thanks for watching and hope to see you again soon.